USB MIDI with Android

Hi all. I’m really loving my Tracker Mini, but I can’t for the life of me get a MIDI controller to work with it. I have tried various physical devices and a phone app (MIDI keyboard on Android). I’m going in via the USB C port. I thought USB C to USB C should be simple. I have set the MIDI note input to USB and I have tried turning the Mini on with the USB lead already connected. I have also set the default USB setting to MIDI on my phone.

I’m sure it’s just me doing something stupid, so if anyone can point me to something that explains what I need to do in simple language, I would really appreciate it.

Alternatively, if anyone can recommend a compact controller that I can put in my bag to use on the go, that would be great - although it would be more convenient to use my Samsung S22 Ultra or my iPad Pro (both of which have USBC sockets).

Sorry to pitch straight in with a plea for help - I’m still learning, so don’t have much to contribute at the moment!

Is this the Keyboard you were using?

If so, that’s the one i use, as well. On Android when connecting the Mini via USB-C, it should show up as “Polyend Tracker Mini” in the MIDI Output Destinations.

If that’s not the case, try a different cable, since the one you are using may just do power delivery and not data.

As for MIDI Settings on the Tracker - just make sure that Notes In is set to USB or USB + Midi In jack and that the Notes In channel is set to ALL.

1 Like

That’s the one! Thank you. I’ll try a different cable, as those are the settings I used.

1 Like

Unfortunately, I still can’t work it out. The cable seems okay, because Tracker Mini shows in the media output list. However, it doesn’t appear in the MIDI output list in the MIDI keyboard app. I have set MIDI as the default USB configuration in my phone settings. I have tried every conceivable sequence of connecting/disconnecting and restarting. Not sure what else I can try.