Advice on sequencing smoothest as possible CC automations / sweeps?

Hi everyone !
I’m a noob in electronic music in general but feel kinda close to PolyEnd as being a long-term Amiga user myself and fan of the amiga tracker scene so I listened to tons of tracked stuff but never wrote any :slight_smile:

I’m planning to use my Play along with a MIDI synth and would like to sequence long evolving pads. I’m well aware of the current 64 steps limitation (but hope there will be a way to have longer drones eventually).

What is the best current way to sequence convincing progressive MIDI CC automations and not just values jumps ? (like filter sweeps) Blade Runner 2049 soundtrack is a good example of such :wink:

Is the 64 steps precision the best I can get ? Do you people think it’s sufficient ? Would it be possible as there will never be LFOs in the Play to still enable to record manual CC automations at a higher resolution ? Or at least to have the Play interpolate to “smooth(en)” the values gaps and not make sudden jumps ?

I’m asking because apart from a couple of missing features (drone, variations chaining), the Play seems to be the perfect device for me :slight_smile: Intuitive, no menu diving, not having to stare at a screen to much etc. (poor old eyes)

Cheers & thanks everyone !

2 Likes

chained variations thread, yay!

I guess, another way to achieve this would be external modulations, but for now we can’t control Play via midi (wish one, wish two, three, four, five).

64 is better than 32 and way better than 16 (still common in synths), but it’s not enough for longer midi records and automation lanes. For basic sequences it’s okay though.

For a moment I wanted to suggest a workaround to use slower playback speeds, but I guess any automation is tied to actual steps anyways, so you won’t get longer smooth filter sweeps this way. Unless the lane isn’t recorded in real time (most probably not). Also, this wish would be relevant here: