Cleaning Your Polyend ;)

Hi all…I need to clean my Polyends (stop laughing at the back!)…a Tracker and a Play…but am worried about the rubberised components like the backings and knobbies reacting to something like isopropyl. Has anyone got any recommendations or learned lessons on de-griming your machines?
Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I just wipe mine occasionally with a clean microfiber cloth using no liquid or anything else and its fine.

Aye, that’d be my standard…but someone somewhere has kinda spattered it with what looks like oil of some kind so I’m trying to get that off in case it affects the finish

As an ex graphic designer I used to use cigarrete lighter fluid as a cleaner for grease. Place a small amount on a clean cloth, not soaking just enough to lightly wet, then I would try and wipe a button in a corner lightly. Wait a few minutes and if all is good then proceed carefully. Do not pour lighter fluid over machine. This is just a suggestion others may find a different approach.

:slight_smile: guess what career I’m on the run from…yup, still got my tins of lighter fluid too. Thanks for the reminder!

JUST TO ROUND THIS ONE OUT IN CASE ANYONE ELSE HAS THIS QUESTION (or had to deal with a certain other well-known audio hardware manufacturers’ degrading rubber knobbies): the wonderful Polyend peeps answered my query with…

“The manufacturer says it’s safe to use isopropyl wipes, or a clean cloth with alcohol.”

Thanks everyone for your suggestions…I know it was an odd question :slight_smile:

1 Like

Do they also make digital lighter fluid? lol

1 Like

I used apple vinegar!
Works fine and is 100% ecological - no chemicals!
:smiling_face:

2 Likes

I’m just gonna drop this one here:

I love Soft Cell and I love the topic haha :heart:

4 Likes